NAJA announces winners of 2013 Media Awards

NORMAN, Okla. – The Native American Journalists Association announced the 2013 NAJA Media Awards winners June 26. Each year, NAJA celebrates members’ achievements and recognizes media professionals telling the stories of Indian Country.

This year, NAJA is proud to announce the recipient of the 2013 Gannett Foundation Investigative Journalism Award – NAJA Richard LaCourse Award, Tristan Ahtone.

NAJA, in partnership with the Gannett Foundation, offers an annual $5,000 award to recognize groundbreaking work by a journalist serving as a community watchdog. Special consideration is given to journalism that helps a community understand and address important issues.

Staff reporter for The Center for Investigative Reporting Ryan Gabrielson served as a guest judge for this category and offered his commentary on Ahtone’s winning entry.

“. . . Ahtone takes the listener on two fascinating journeys in ‘Land Grab,’ telling the powerful narrative of an Arapaho man who believes himself robbed of his family’s land and the story of a reporter mining for truth in documents and memories. Most journalists would pursue only the outrage of radioactive pollution on the

Wind River Reservation. With patient storytelling that respects the listeners’ intelligence, Ahtone goes far deeper, asking: how did the uranium mill’s owners obtain the land? This is excellent public service journalism.”

This award is made possible by a generous contribution from the Gannett Foundation.

Read more here.

Tristan Ahtone

Submit a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s